Worker Writes

Winning poems from 1st Migrant Workers Poetry Competition

After browsing through so many great poems I felt that the poem titled pocket 2 is my favorite poem.


POCKET 2

Still in the same world, we belong to different spheres
You on that side and me on this:
we can do nothing but remember each other
The memories of you and me hang like posters
on the wall of the Ekushe bookfair
at the doil field, under the shade of the bakul tree at Charukala
at Hakim square, in the hoodless rickshaw
at the florists of Shahbag, at the open field of TSC
on the water of Ramana lake
in a night of shades and lights
on our bed of love

I remember when I returned this time
my heart dissolved in your tears
The pocket of my shirt was wet
Reaching the end of my memories
I wear that shirt every night
and write love poems to you
Do I really write poems
Or do my poems cry with me?

 (Zakir Hussain Khokhon)

Out of so many great poem , I have chosen Pocket 2 as my favorite poem, it’s because i felt that the poem is well-though out and it really connects to me in an emotional level. The poem really express its feeling of longing for loved one across the globe and how it feels everyday without them by your side.

Below I will write down what i infer from each of these individual sentences.


(Part 1)

Still in the same world, we belong to different spheres
You on that side and me on this:
we can do nothing but remember each other

My thoughtsI felt that the writer is telling us that him and his loved one live on the same earth, same globe but the only different is their location. They are practically thousand of miles away from each other, right across the globe. They can’t do anything about this situation even if they misses each other, all they can do is hold on to each other memories.

(Part 2)

The memories of you and me hang like posters
on the wall of the Ekushe bookfair
at the doil field, under the shade of the bakul tree at Charukala
at Hakim square, in the hoodless rickshaw
at the florists of Shahbag, at the open field of TSC
on the water of Ramana lake
in a night of shades and lights
on our bed of love

My thoughtsI felt that the writer is holding on to their memories constantly , no matter where he went. He is reminiscing the memory he had with his loved one whenever he misses her.

(Part 3)

I remember when I returned this time
my heart dissolved in your tears
The pocket of my shirt was wet
Reaching the end of my memories
I wear that shirt every night
and write love poems to you

My thoughtsI think that the writer is telling us that when he recall the past when he reunited with his loved one he saw her tears when they seen each other which makes his heart melts. While reminiscing the memory of the past he noticed that his shirt pocket was wet this suggest that tears had been rolling down his eye. Even though the memory of her will make him tear up every time he thought of her but he will still continue writing love poems to her while thinking about her.

(Part 4)

Do I really write poems
Or do my poems cry with me?

My thoughts The writer is questioning himself that by writing out the poem is him writing poem or as he writes down the sentences it actually makes him more sad. Hence, does the poem cry with him when he wrote down each sentences.


Overall my thoughtsIn a nut shell, I felt that this poem really speaks from the heart of the writer. When you read the poem, it’s like reading a page out of the writer’s life and you will understand what circumstances the writer is in or was in hopefully.

I felt that the purpose of this poem is really to speak out to the public that, some people might call them by their occupation as constructions worker, but they are not just a construction worker, they are more than that. By writing out this poem shows that they are capable of other things too. And it also allows us to understand more about them. Thumbs up for the person behind this idea, by organizing this competition we are letting them know that we are concerned for them and they are not neglected by most people if they think this way.


Source: http://www.todayonline.com/blogs/forartssake/winning-poems-1st-migrant-workers-poetry-competition?page=1

Leave a Reply

